Sign up to our newsletter

Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!

Announcement Awards

RIAI Public Choice Award


This year the RIAI are celebrating 30 years of the RIAI Architecture Awards, one of the longest running and most prestigious architectural awards.

The purpose of the Awards is to promote the quality of current work by RIAI Members at home and abroad and to create awareness of the contribution that architects make to society for everyone’s benefit. Awards are made over a number of categories and the RIAI Awards offer a fascinating insight into current architectural practice in Ireland and tell the story of what is happening in Ireland’s built environment.

To see the full list of nominated buildings Click Here


Awards Categories 2019

Workplace and Fit-Out – Sponsored by Walls to Workstations
This category includes offices, workplace design, fit-out, as well as local authority offices, retail, restaurants, cafes, and hotels.

Adaptation and Re-use  – Sponsored by Kingscourt Brick of Kingscourt Country Manor Bricks
This category includes buildings that have undergone conservation and/or restoration work, and are either in continuous use or have been adapted for re-use.

Cultural / Public Buildings – Sponsored by Kilsaran
This category includes buildings in cultural use such as libraries, arts and community buildings.

Learning Environments  – Sponsored by Cabinpac
This category includes all learning environments from nursery schools to primary, second and third level as well as adult education.

Wellbeing – Sponsored by Soprema
This category includes the full suite of healthcare buildings – from acute hospitals to primary care centres and GP surgeries. It also includes leisure and sport facilities designed to improve wellbeing.

Living  – Sponsored by Vandersanden of Kingscourt Country Manor Bricks
This category includes buildings designed for living – from home extensions to one-off houses and to apartments and mixed use housing schemes.

International – Sponsored by Enterprise Ireland
This category includes buildings outside Ireland designed by RIAI Members.

Public Space – Sponsored by Dulux Trade Ireland
This category includes realised public realm projects that enhance our built environment.

Innovation – New Award – Sponsored by Kingspan Insulated Panels
This category includes buildings from every typology that show particular innovation in design and delivery.

Building for All – Universal Design Sponsor by CEUD
Developed in partnership with the Centre of Excellence in Universal Design (CEUD), this award recognises excellence in Universal Design.

Sustainability – Sponsored by Tegral
This award is for projects that demonstrate innovation and excellence in sustainable design.

Urban Design / Masterplanning – New Award
This category includes urban design studies, master plans, redevelopment strategies, and community plans of an urban area.

Research – New Award – Sponsored by The Arup Trust
Developed in partnership with the ARUP Trust, this award recognises excellence in architectural research.

The Future Award – Sponsored by KBC Business Banking
Awarded in association with the RIAI Journal, Architecture Ireland, the Future Award recognises and awards new talent in architecture.