Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!
IAF Members Tour: Clontarf Castle
IAF members only, email to RSVP and for exact time and location.
Originally built in 1172 by Hugh de Lacy, the current Clontarf Castle dates back to 1837 and was designed by Irish architect William Vitruvius Morrison for John Edward Venables Vernon, the then owner. The Vernon family were the longest inhabitants of the Castle, having lived there for over 300 years but in 1933, the last remaining member of the Vernon family sold the castle. It reopened in 1991 as four-star hotel, The Clontarf Castle Hotel. It has now been significantly enlarged by the addition of modern wings, but there remains a modest curtilage, the ornamental gatehouse and the original & charming castellated tower. This IAF Members tour of the Castle will take in old and new by exploring some of the building’s original features as well as seeing the Hotel’s contemporary art collection and will finish with a glass of mulled wine.
Like the sound of the tour but not yet an IAF member? Join here!