Sign up to our newsletter

Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!


RIAI Irish Architecture Awards 2012 Shortlist Announced


The RIAI has announced the 34 projects that have been shortlisted for the much anticipated 23rd RIAI Irish Architecture Awards 2012. The category winners will be announced on 21 June 2012. If you would like a chance to vote for your favourite building you can on the 6th June when the ‘Public Choice Award’ will go live on the RIAI website.

Ard na Sidhe Hotel – Howley Hayes Architects
Back Yard – Boyd Cody Architects
Bell Tower at Saint Patrick’s Church, Ballina – Axo Architects
Bricolage and Weathering – Donaghy and Dimond Architects
Butterfly House – LiD Architecture
Central Park Bridge London 2012 – Heneghan Peng Architects
Cottage Cubed, Remodel of a 25sqm Fisherman’s Cottage – DMVF Architects
Dublin Dental Hospital – McCullough Mulvin Architects
EMERGING – The Shack, Eversheds, Suncatcher, South Drogheda Health Campus – PAC STUDIO
Emerging Practice – Donal Colfer Architects
Emerging Practice – Steve Larkin Architects
Emerging Practice – Rural; Suburban; Urban – Davey + Smith Architects
Emerging Practice Award – Carson and Crushell Architects
Emerging Practice Work – David Flynn, Architect
Engineering Building NUI Galway – Taylor Architects /RMJM
Extension and Renovation in Portobello, Dublin – Donal Colfer Architects
Extension, 14 St. Mobhi Road, Glasnevin, Dublin – CAST architecture
Fota Enclosed Frameyard and Glasshouses Restoration Phase 1 – John J. O’Connell Architects Ltd.
Garden Kitchen – LiD Architecture
House at Bogwest – Steve Larkin Architects
House on Mount Anville – Aughey O’Flaherty Architects
Lyric Theatre Belfast – O’Donnell + Tuomey
Monaghan Courthouse – OPW Architectural Services
New Extension to Primary School for Girls – Mary Laheen Architects
Old House / New House – Donoghue Corbett Architects
Sean Treacy House – Paul Keogh Architects
St. Vincent’s Private Hospital – Scott Tallon Walker Architects
Teach Bhaile Eamoinn – Steve Larkin Architects
The Lir Academy – Smith + Kennedy Architects
The Metals Project, Phase 1 – Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council Architects Department.
Tropical Biome, Leipzig – Henchion Reuter Architects
Werk* – ODKM Architects
Wexford County Council Headquarters – Robin Lee Architecture in association with Arthur Gibney & Partners
Wood Quay Venue – McCullough Mulvin Architects

This year’s jury members for 2012 are:
Eddie Conroy – Chair – South Dublin Co Co
Fionnuala May – Fingal Co Co
Orla Fitz.Gerald – Fitzgerald & Associates Architects Ltd
Orla Murphy –Architect, Design Tutor UCD
Paul Dillon – Paul Dillon Architects
Stephen Best – Senior Lecturer in the School of Architecture and Urban Design at the DIT