Sign up to our newsletter

Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!


RIBA Stirling Shortlist Announced


The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) have announced the shortlist for this year’s Stirling Prize which includes Burntwood School in Wandsworth, designed by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris; the Peabody affordable housing block at Darbishire Place in east London by Irish architect Niall McLaughlin; Maggie’s cancer care centre in Lanarkshire, by Reiach and Hall; the NEO Bankside luxury apartments in Southwark, Rogers Stirk Harbour; the library and teaching building at the University of Greenwich, by Dublin-based practice Heneghan Peng; and the Whitworth Art Gallery in Manchester, by MUMA.

The Stirling Prize is awarded by the RIBA in recognition of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year. The shortlist was selected from the 37 winners of the RIBA’s national awards, which were revealed last month.

The Stirling Prize winner will be selected by a panel of judges including incoming RIBA president Jane Duncan, architects Peter Clegg and Steve Tompkins, and arts philanthropist Theresa Sackler. It will be announced at a ceremony at the RIBA’s London headquarters on 15 October.


Image: Peabody affordable housing block at Darbishire Place by Niall McLaughin Architects, image sourced at www.niallmclaughlin.com