Sign up to our newsletter

Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!


RIBA launches new global architecture award: The RIBA International Prize


The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) announces a major new prize to discover the world’s best new buildings and to celebrate the value of architecture to communities worldwide.

The RIBA International Prize will be awarded to the most significant and inspirational building of the year. The winning building will demonstrate visionary, innovative thinking and excellence of execution, whilst making a distinct contribution to its users and to its physical context.

Opening for entries today, Tuesday 8 December 2015, the RIBA International Prize will be awarded to a building of any type or budget and in any country, which exemplifies design excellence, architectural ambition and which delivers meaningful social impact. The prize is open to any qualified architect in the world.

The winner will be chosen by a Grand Jury led by acclaimed architect Richard Rogers and including Kunle Adeyenmi, founder and principal of NLÉ and Philip Gumuchdjian, founder of Gumuchdjian Architects, Chair of RIBA’s awards committee. The full jury will be announced in due course.

RIBA’s rigorous judging process will see two expert panels of jurors visit each of the shortlisted buildings twice in person, before the Grand Jury selects six finalists to visit once more to decide on the winning building.

The winner of the first RIBA International Prize will be announced at a ceremony in London in December 2016.

For more information and application details visit www.architecture.com

Follow RIBA on Twitter @RIBA

Follow RIBA on Facebook at RIBA Architecture

Photo: The RIBA Grand Jury (left to right): Richard Rogers, founding director of Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, Kunlé Adeyenmi, director, NLÉ Projects, Philip Gumuchdjian, director of Gumuchdjian Architects.