Sign up to our newsletter

Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!


O’Donnell Tuomey Awarded Academy of Arts and Letters Award


The American Academy of Arts and Letters has announced the recipients of its 2015 architecture awards and O’Donnell + Tuomey are among the winners. Sheila O’Donnell and John Tuomey have been awarded the $20,000 Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize, which is awarded to any architect “who has made a significant contribution to architecture as an art”.

O’Donnell and Tuomey earlier this year received the 2015 Royal Gold Medal from the Royal Institute of British Architects, 40 years after it was awarded to the last Irish recipient, Michael Scott.

The couple set up O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects in 1988 having previously worked together in London for Stirling Wilford Associates and Colquhoun & Miller, after graduating from the UCD school of architecture. In the early 1990s, O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects were part of the Group 91 consortium of architects who drew up the masterplan for Temple Bar in Dublin. Their first major project was the Irish Film Institute in Temple Bar. Other recognisable projects include the Glucksman Gallery at UCC (2005) and Belfast’s Lyric Theatre (2011).

Other winners of this year’s awards include Yolande Daniels & Sunil Bald, Kate Orff, Kurt W. Forster and Rosalie Genevro all practicing in New York.

The Academy of Arts and Letters annual architecture awards program began in 1955. This year’s winners were chosen from 41 nominees. The jurors were: Henry N. Cobb, Elizabeth Diller (chairman), Peter Eisenman, Kenneth Frampton, Michael Graves, Richard Meier, Laurie Olin, Cesar Pelli, Billie Tsien, and Tod Williams.

Another congratulations to O’Donnell + Tuomey from all at IAF



Image: Archiseek