Sign up to our newsletter

Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!


Gilroy McMahon Architects winner of Primary Schools for the 21st century competition


The Minister for Education and Skills, Ruairí Quinn T.D., today announced that Gilroy McMahon Architects is the winner of an international design competition for primary schools.

The Department of Education and Skills (DES) will use the results from the competition and feedback from the one day conference in Dublin Castle, “Designing Primary Schools for 21st Century Learners” to inform the future design of primary schools.
It may also decide to use the designs in the building of new primary schools when appropriate.
54 entries were received for the competition with 13 coming from abroad, including teams from Denmark, Italy, Portugal and Australia.

The competition was an opportunity for the Department of Education and Skills to explore with architects and educationalists the development of innovative architectural designs that respond to emerging 21st century needs of primary school learners and teachers.
The Pedagogical Brief attempted to inspire designs that are innovative and that can accommodate future changes in learner needs and pedagogy over the coming years.
The competition followed on from a highly successful Post Primary School Design Competition in 2012, where the winners,ARPL Architects, were awarded the commission for the design of a new post-primary school in Kingswood, Tallaght.
The Minister thanked the judging panel for the competition that included nationally and internationally-renowned architects and educationalists, and representatives of the Department of Education and Skills.

Winner – Gilroy McMahon Architects Dublin
2nd Place – Kim Dreyer Architect Wicklow
3rd Place – Coady Partnership Architects Dublin
Commended Avanti Architects UK
CommendedSeán Harrington Architects Dublin
CommendedJohn McLaughlin Architects Dublin
CommendedJohn O’Neill Architects Dublin

Primary Schools for the 21st century is NOT an IAF event and is delivered by The Department of Education and Skills for more information please visit this website.