Sign up to our newsletter

Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!

Awards Open Call

AAI Awards: call for entries


The intention of the AAI Awards is to encourage higher standards of architecture throughout the country, to recognise projects which make a contribution to Irish architecture, and to inform the public of emerging directions in contemporary architecture.


A panel of five distinguished assessors is invited to make a broad selection of schemes which they believe make a contribution to Irish architecture.

Schemes are selected on the basis that they aspire to “excellence in architectural design”, and the selection is irrespective of building type, location, scale, or whether built/unbuilt.

The assessors comprise: an architectural critic, a foreign architect, two Irish architects, and a distinguished non-architect. This is subject to amendment by the AAI committee.

The assessors for the AAI Awards 2018 are to be confirmed.
The assessors’ decision is final. The Awards Registrar and the President of the AAI will attend the assessment as observers.


The AAI Awards are for built and unbuilt projects by all practitioners in Ireland and Irish practitioners abroad.
Current buildings – including landscape / infrastructure works and competition-winning projects, which are under development, under construction, or completed within 24 months prior to the submission deadline are eligible.

Current projects, counter projects, and theoretical works are also eligible. The following projects are not eligible:

(a) student projects,
(b) projects carried out in offices of the Assessors or the AAI President where the President is the entrant or a principal or director of the practice,
(c) previous AAI Award-winning projects or Special Mention-winning projects (both built and unbuilt),
(d) unsuccessful competition entries.

Where a project is ineligible for entry due to the service of an Assessor or the AAI President the period of eligibility will be extended accordingly.

Unsuccessful awards entries may be submitted a maximum of two times. This applies to both built and unbuilt projects.

The Registrar’s decision is final on the eligibility of projects.
Queries on eligibility should be addressed the Registrar c/o the AAI, via awards@architecturalassociation.ie at least seven days prior to the final registration deadline


Early: €90. Additional entries: €90/project.
Late: €125. Additional entries: €125/project.
Deadline for submissions: Friday, 26th January 2018, 6pm


Registration will be online only.

Early registration forms – together with appropriate fees, transferred via Paypal or bank transfer only – must be submitted online by 12 midnight on Friday 12th of January 2018.

Applicants who wish to submit more than one entry must return an additional fee for each entry.

Upon receipt of full payment, entry forms and digital submission forms will be sent by email to all registered entrants.

All entrants must be current full AAI Annual Pass members.
Late registration deadline is 6pm on Thursday 25th January 2018.

No further registration will be accepted beyond this date.


Deadline for submissions- Friday 26th January 2018 6pm sharp.

Full details, registration forms and instructions to entrants are available on our website – architecturalassociation.ie