Sign up to our newsletter

Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!


8 Irish firms compete for Mies van der Rohe Award 2015


The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced yesterday the list of 420 projects competing for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2015.

5 of the projects are constructed in Ireland:

University of Limerick, Medical School, Student Housing, Piazza and Pergola, Grafton Architects
Shelley McNamara, Yvonne Farrell, Ger Carty, Philippe O’Sullivan


Coláiste Ailigh, McGarry Ní Éanaigh Architects
Siobhán Ní Éanaigh, Michael McGarry

The Cow House, Michael Kelly Architect
Michael Kelly, Dan Costelloe

Airfield Evolution, Solearth Architecture
Michael Haslam, Eunan McLaughlin, Dermot Foley

Waterford Medieval Museum, Waterford City Council
Rupert Maddock, Bartosz Rojowski, Agnieszka Zipper-Rojowska

3 are constructed elsewhere:

Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, LSE, UK – O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects

Bishop Edward King Chapel, Oxford, UK – Niall McLaughlin Architects

Pulp Press, Norway – A2 Architects with John Gerrard

Good luck to all!

Above image of the Mies van der Rohe Award 2013 winner – Harpa – Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre by Henning Larsen Architects and artist Olafur Eliasson.

The Mies van der Rohe Award is NOT an IAF award. For more information see their website.