Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!
An epic ‘short documentary’ offering a unique and insightful account of the conservation and restoration work on Dublin’s iconic Four Courts dome, from Graham Hickey, Dublin Civic Trust, with Audrey Farrell, Senior Conservation Architect, Office of Public Works and Terri Sweeney Meade, Assistant Principal Architect Conservation, Office of Public Works. The Four Courts is an iconic building begun by Thomas Cooley in 1776 and then taken over by James Gandon following Cooley’s death. The documentary speaks about the building as a ‘survivor and witness’ to the social and political upheaval of our capital city over 200 years, and reveals recent behind-the-scenes restoration by the OPW expert team.
Director Bonnie Dempsey, Producer Aimie Gavin, Director of Photography Tom Comerford, Additional Camera Martin Osborne, Sound Recordist Susan Downey, Drone Photography Martin Osborne, Blaine Rennicks, Rerecording Mixer Nikki Moss, Editor David O’Sullivan.
Contributors: Graham Hickey, Audrey Farrell, Terri Sweeney, Portrait of James Gandon, by William Cuming & Tilly Kettle © National Gallery of Ireland. Footage supplied by British Pathé.
Special Thanks: Dublin Civic Trust, Alan Keenan, Office of Public Works, Graham Hickey, Audrey Farrell, Terri Sweeney, Colum O’Riordan, Irish Architectural Archive, Margaret Mooney, Dublin City Council, British Pathé, Francis Gavin, The Courts Service & The Bar of Ireland.
Irish Architecture Foundation 2021 © Produced by Dyehouse Films.
Opinions expressed are the contributors’ alone and do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of the Irish Architecture Foundation or Dyehouse Films.