Find about what we're up to with regular updates
sign up now!
The Iveagh Market was designed and built by Frederick G. Hicks in 1906 and was in active use for most of the 20th century. In this rare insight into the Liberties iconic indoor market, we see the unsettling scenes of a dilapidated interior allowed to decay for twenty years. It seems impossible to imagine how it could be brought back into use. We hear from Lord Iveagh, who recounts how the market came to be, and former traders Rita Ryan and Imelda Patel (née Lahiff) describe with affection the meaning and significance of the market to the local community. Councillor Tina McVeigh talks about the restoration of the building, the commitment from Lord Iveagh, and the call to action by the community to bring the building, once the social and commercial heart of the Liberties, back to its former glory.
Director Bonnie Dempsey, Producer Aimie Gavin, Director of Photography Tom Comerford, Camera (UK) Paul Curran, Director (UK) Georgina Burrell, Additional Camera Ror Conaty, Drone Photography Martin Osborne, Blaine Rennicks, Ror Conaty, Sound Recordist Susan Downey, Rerecording Mixer Nikki Moss, Editor Mike Foott, Executive Producer David O’Sullivan.
Contributors: Rita Ryan, Imelda Patel (née Lahiff), Tina McVeigh, Edward Guinness, Fourth Earl of Iveagh.
Archive: ‘Alive Alive O – A Requiem for Dublin’ courtesy of Loopline Film & Sé Merry Doyle, RTÉ News, Irish Architectural Archive, IFI Irish Film Archive.
Special Thanks: Paul Smithwick, Vanessa Clarke, Rita Ryan, Imelda Patel, Gerard Ryan, John Foley, Tina McVeigh, Ian Patel, Colum O’Riordan, Irish Architectural Archive, David Delaney, Sé Merry Doyle.
Irish Architecture Foundation 2021 © Produced by Dyehouse Films.
Opinions expressed are the contributors’ alone and do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of the Irish Architecture Foundation or Dyehouse Films.
Opened in 1902 and decommissioned in 1976, the vast ruin of the former Pigeon House Power Station is the largest protected structure in Ireland and one of the most striking industrial architecture complexes in the city. The building was designed by engineers and constantly modified to keep up with increasing electricity demand. It now holds a different kind of power, one of great cultural and social potential.
An epic ‘short documentary’ offering a unique and insightful account of the conservation and restoration work on Dublin’s iconic Four Courts dome. The Four Courts building was begun by Thomas Cooley in 1776 and then taken over by James Gandon following Cooley’s death. The documentary speaks about the building as a ‘survivor and witness’ to the social and political upheaval of our capital city over 200 years